By John O’Donnell and Robin Emmott

Germany, France and nine other euro zone countries will get the go-ahead on Tuesday to start work on a financial transactions tax, a measure likely to unsettle banks and trading houses but which will please voters and could raise much-needed revenue.

European Union finance ministers are expected to give their approval at a meeting in Brussels, allowing 11 states – Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Austria, Portugal, Belgium, Estonia, Greece, Slovakia and Slovenia – to start preparations for imposing a tax on all financial market transactions.

Continue Reading.